Webinars

CGI Global Webinar: 'Navigating Social Responsibility'

Over at least a decade there has been a growing expectation that our major corporations will pursue their profit motive whilst at the same time operating in a manner that benefits the common good. There is an expectation from some that our major corporations will occasionally take a public stand on important social issues that affects their stakeholders as well as the broader community.

The expectation is not universal. In the last couple of years many commentators are pushing back on this trend. In particular, when shareholder’s funds are involved. Regardless of the position taken, and the outcome, if corporations do take a stand on a social issue, it is often complicated and occasionally creates difficulties.

The term ‘navigate’ in the tittle sums up the situation perfectly. There is no defined road-map. Organisations must approach each situation on its own. Take the opportunity to hear from those that have to deal with this everyday.

For this webinar, we are fortunate to be joined by:

Panellists:
Gillian Meller FCG HKFCG
Legal & Governance Director, MTR Corporation Limited

Simon Pordage FCG, FGIA
Company Secretary, ANZ Group Holdings Limited

Gertrude Takawira ACG
Policy Advisor, The Chartered Governance Institute

Moderator:
Tim Sheehy FCG
Director General of The Chartered Governance Institute

Tuesday 23rd April 2024
London: 8am [BST] | Johannesburg: 9am [SAST] | Hong Kong: 3pm [HKT] | Sydney: 5pm [AEST]

This webinar is complimentary to attend, and provides the opportunity to gain up to 1 hr of CPD credits.

Can't make the date?
Register anyway to ensure you catch the on-demand discussion that will be shared after the live webinar.

Register Now

Be the first to know about the latest events and insights